Licence Information & Renewal Policy

Updated


Content Notify is licensed for one year at a time. Licence renewals are automatic, unless cancelled, and allow you to receive updates and Priority Support without interruption.

What happens if a licence is not renewed?

  • Automatic security and feature updates will be discontinued.
  • The download link in My Account will disappear.
  • You will no longer have access to Priority Support.

If I renew my licence, do I need to also re-download the plugin and install it again?

No, the built-in automatic update system will take care of all of that for you.

Will the plugin work with an inactive or expired licence?

Yes it will, and this is perfectly legal.

Can licences be renewed early or late?

Yes. Renewing early will extend your licence from its previous end. Renewing late will give you one more year beginning from your point of renewal.

Early renewal example: If you purchased in August 2015, and renewed in June 2016 your licence would expire in August 2017.

Late renewal example: If you purchased in June 2015, and renewed in August 2016 your licence would expire in August 2017.

Are there lifetime licence options?

No, not at this time.

If I have Live and Testing servers, do I need to activate my licence on both sites?

No, you only need to activate your licence on your Live site. You may still install the plugin on your Test server and use it without an active licence as an active licence is only required for continued updates and support. You may however, find it beneficial to purchase a 2-5 site or unlimited site licence (depending on your circumstances) in order to enable updates on all servers that you use during production. If you wish to change the URL currently in use on a licence, you can do so from My Account.

I run sites for multiple clients, what license do I need?

If you don’t want your clients reusing your licence key, each client will need their own licence. There is no way to obscure a licence to a client once activated on a site at this time.
If you’re running a multisite network where the plugin will be network activated and therefore the licence key will be hidden to the sub-sites on the network, you’ll still need a licence for each sub-site on the network but you can utilise one of the available multi-site licences for this instead.

Will my licence renew itself automatically?

If you purchased an add-on after 9th June 2016 then it is set to renew automatically. If you purchased an add-on before that date then you’ll need to renew manually. Once you manually renew it will be set to automatically renew from that point onward.

How will I know when the licence subscription is renewed?

You will receive an email notifying you of the renewal.

What if I don’t want to renew?

You can log into My Account and end your subscription at any time. This will NOT remove any subscription time/support/licences you’ve already paid for, it will merely make it so you don’t automatically renew when your subscription time ends.

Why are you spelling licence incorrectly?

I live in England so spell ‘licence’ the official English British way (with a ‘c’), as opposed to ‘license’ which is the official English US way (with an ‘s’).