When a user fills out the Content Notify form, they are essentially creating a subscription. When something on the website is published/updated that matches a user’s subscription, an alert is sent to them in an email.
Alerts can be triggered by two things at this time: when content is published, or when content is updated.
Content Notify is compatible with all methods of publishing or updating content that in WordPress. These are:
- Using the default content editor in WordPress, known as the ‘Block Editor’
- Using the Gutenberg plugin (a bleeding edge version of the Block Editor),
- Using the Classic Editor plugin
- via the WP REST API
- via WP-CLI
- via the
Content that is set to private will not trigger a notification. Content that is set to public and is also password protected will trigger a notification but will not include the post content in the message body of the alert for security purposes.